Keokuk’s City Council

Keokuk’s City government is led by Keokuk’s mayor and city council and employ’s a City Administrator. City leaders work closely with the Keokuk Area Chamber of Commerce and Keokuk Economic Development Corporation as well as the Lee County Economic Development Corporation to secure a strong future for the community.

The close network of city personnel, including administrative, police, fire and public works, strives to provide services that go well beyond the average, working toward the betterment of the community. The results are apparent through the high quality public services provided by the City of Keokuk’s dedicated employees.

The city has 19 firefighters, 24-full time police officers (plus 3 civilians, such as records clerks, etc.) and 51 public works employees. The mayor, elected to two-year terms, is at the helm of the river city. City council members, all four-year term seats, represent residents in city’s seven wards bringing concerns and suggestions to the table weekly for discussion, as well as 2 council member elected to at-large terms.

City Council meetings are open to the public. The meetings are held at 5:30 p.m. on the first and third Thursday of every month at Keokuk City Hall. City council workshops starts immediately following the Regular Meeting and special city council meetings are occasionally called. Keokuk’s city council and public works departments are working to carry out a plan to rebuild the city’s main arteries and neighborhood streets while completing a extensive sewer separation project.

Plentiful drinking water is provided to residents and local industry by the Keokuk Municipal Water Works, a cutting edge water plant capable of exceeding the city’s demands. The water system, which was expanded in 1998 – 1999, has a daily production capacity of 24 million gallons.

Future plans include further development of the riverfront and bluff area to add to the already the wonderful quality of life in Keokuk through increased amenities along the scenic riverfront.

Dorothy Cackley:
At Large
Devon Dade:
At Large
Carissa Crenshaw:
1st Ward
Tyler Walker:
2nd Ward
Roslyn Garcia:
3rd Ward
Steve Andrews:
4th Ward
Dan Tillman:
5th Ward
Roger Bryant:
6th Ward
Mike Greenwald:
7th Ward